Steppin Out

What have you done to step outside of your comfort zone lately?  I stepped out of mine TWICE today.  Once in a blue moon is rare for me, but twice in one day?!

What did she do, you might be wondering?  Well, first, I called my senators to tell them about an issue that was very important to me.  I won’t go into a lot of detail here, except to say that if something is truly important to you, don’t be afraid to speak up.  Don’t rely on others to speak up and effect the change, because nobody may end up speaking at all.  As Thomas Paine once said, “these are the times that try men’s souls.”  I believe we, right here and now, are facing trying times; it’s no time to keep quiet .  Moral of the story, our government representatives work for us, so don’t be afraid to tell them how you feel.

The next big thing – I cooked dinner tonight.  Like, actually cooked.  I cut, diced, mixed – the whole nine yards.  That in itself is a small miracle, as I do not particularly enjoy cooking.  But a couple of weeks ago, I got a hair-brained idea to try Blue Apron, and my first delivery came today.  I decided to try the hamburgers with red cabbage slaw and sweet potato fries first.  I was pretty leery of this, the slaw and the sweet potato fries especially, but I have to admit that it was really good.  The red cabbage slaw on the burger was delicious – it was a really nice contrast.  And the fries were tolerable, but not anything I would chose to eat on a regular basis.  (Still, I am somewhat amazed that I, of all people, actually made sweet potato fries from scratch!)  All in all, it was a success:  I didn’t burn the house down or cut off any fingers, and I didn’t leave the kitchen in shambles.  (There may be hope for me yet…but I’d still prefer to find a man who will cook for me.)

After getting up way too early this morning, working out, going in to work early, working out again, cooking dinner, and getting in some homework, I have to say that I am BEAT.  (Bears. Beets. Battlestar Galactica.)  So I’m off to bed so that I can do it all over again (minus the cooking part – hooray for leftovers!) tomorrow.

God Bless and Goodnight

img_20170131_184204

 

 

Leave a Reply

