No man, no madness…

With the inauguration looming on the horizon, my heart is heavy.  I do not look forward to this new administration and I was not overly fond of the one on the way out.  But even as I dread this new leadership, I respect the peaceful transition of power that is the hallmark of American politics.  I am grateful for it and pray that we, as a nation, never take it for granted.  Because as bad as it may seem, it could be far worse.

Yet, even as I respect the peaceful transition of power, and as I also respect the office of the President of the United States, I cannot and do not respect the man about to step into that office.  Respect is earned, not given, and he has done nothing to earn my respect.  I did not agree with many things that 44 did during his eight years (that may be an understatement), but it cannot be denied that he was an educated, charismatic speaker who carried himself with dignity and treated people with respect.  I’m afraid the same cannot be said about 45.  I look toward the next four years with great trepidation because frankly, we could have done so much better.  It truly hurts my heart that people would choose such hatred and bigotry over hope and love (and no, I’m not talking about Hillary, I’m going ALL the way back to the primaries).

However, even as I believe the election of this man is a colossal mistake, I know that God uses every situation for His glory, no matter how bleak it may seem to us. This presidency and the next four years will surely be no different.  For nothing is out of God’s reach.  So I will pray for His will to be done.  If I were a better person, I would pray for 45, but alas, I’m not, so I won’t.

I leave with you with a song sung by my favorite artist that I feel is, in part, especially relevant.  And because Josh Groban’s voice makes everything a little bit better.

 

Leave a Reply

