Thrive Alive!

Today marks the 30th day that I have been Thriving!  When I first started, I was a hopeful skeptic.  I decided to try this thing because I knew I had to do something in order to live a more healthy lifestyle.  I wanted something that would help me lose weight (again) and keep it off.  I wanted more energy to deal with full time work AND school.  So I took a leap of faith and trusted a friend who had been experiencing great things with the product.  And I’m so glad that I did.

And yes, I have noticed changes in my first 30 days.  The most amazing thing I have noticed is that Thrive has given me more self-confidence.  I wasn’t expecting this at all, but it has allowed me to be more open to put myself out there.  Most of you reading this know that I’m an introvert…I’m pretty quiet and often shy around new people.  I don’t love crowds or being around a lot of people that aren’t in my “bubble.”  But Thrive has broken down those walls a little bit.  I’m still me, but I think Thrive is allowing me to be a better version of myself.  I’ve done some things that would have been uncharacteristic of me pre-Thrive:

  1. I called in to my favorite radio show and talked to the host for over 5 minutes and was on the air.  You may not think that’s a big deal, and in the big scheme of things it isn’t.  But for an introvert with a phone phobia…I was pretty proud of myself for doing it.  And I wasn’t anxious or nervous, so that was cool for me.
  2. When I was at the Super Bowl parade in Denver, I noticed a news crew walking by and yelled “GO BRONCOS!!”  (Normally I would have just kept my mouth shut and kept walking.  It’s part of my “don’t speak until spoken to” mentality.)  This prompted them to stop us (myself and my friend) and interview us about why we were at the parade, who we were excited to see, etc.  I was able to articulate my thoughts clearly to these strangers (and their camera) without being the slightest bit nervous.  This type of thing would typically really freak me out.
  3. I recently signed up to volunteer to make phone calls to South Carolina for the Rubio campaign ahead of their primary.  This is the first thing I’ve done to directly volunteer for a campaign in my life.  I’ve always wanted to be more active for the candidates I support, but I’ve always let my own insecurities hold me back.  Now, phone calling is not necessarily a fun job.  People hang up on you, yell at you, and I’m still struggling with that aspect a bit.  But I’m doing it.

Thrive has also helped me to be more healthy physically.  I have a love/hate relationship with my Treadclimber machine.  But I have been able to stick to a workout schedule more consistently.  This past week in particular, I have been waking up at 6 every morning in order to get in a 20 minute workout on the machine before I start getting ready for work.  After I get home from work I still have energy to get back on that machine and do at least another 10 minutes in order to round out my 30 minute daily goal.    This had led me to meet my Fitbit step goal more often, and has helped me to lose a little over 4 pounds since day 1 of Thrive.

I’ve also been making healthier food choices.  Because I’m putting all of this healthy stuff in my body from Thrive, I don’t want to sabotage it with junk food.  I also don’t crave as much of the junk that I used to (although I do still have my moments), and I drink significantly more water now.

So Thrive has given me improved mental clarity, better cognitive performance, a boost in my weight loss efforts, and confidence in myself.  And this is only in the first 30 days!  I can’t wait to see what the next 30 days bring!

thrive 30
Thrive is changing my life and it can change yours, too!
Leave a Reply

